Cyber Awards

Now Accepting Nominations

Help us recognize the leaders in government cybersecurity who go above and beyond to protect our critical data and systems by nominating them for a Cyber Award.
More Info


Friday, October 13, 2017
5 p.m. EDT

Awards Ceremony

Tuesday, December 5, 2017
2017 Symantec Government Symposium (During the morning plenary session)
Renaissance Hotel
Washington, D.C.


The awards will recognize winners in the following categories:

  • Federal – Civilian
  • Federal – Defense
  • State and Local
  • U.S. Congress/Capitol Hill

Each award nominee must be a current employee of a Federal, state, or local branch of government;  government agency; or a member of U.S. Congress.


Contact Allison Grondine
(703) 883-9000, ext. 102

Review the Overview and Guidelines and submit your nomination today, either online or via email to Allison Grondine at

Cyber Awards Alumni


  • Chris ChristensenState of Michigan
  • Michael DentFairfax County
  • Jennine GilbeauDepartment of Homeland Security
  • Master Sergeant Robert HarrisAir Force Global Strike Command
  • Congressman Will Hurd(R-TX)
  • Jason LimTransportation Security Administration
  • Trevor SmithAir Force Global Strike Command
  • Senator Mark Warner(D-VA)


  • Gary GallowayDepartment of State
  • Mark GowerState of Oklahoma Office of Management and Enterprise Services
  • Ronald James KingUSDA National Finance Center
  • Congressman Jim Langevin (D-RI)
  • Richard NaylorDefense Security Service
  • Achim PurdyChesterfield County Public Schools, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Senator John Thune (R-SD)


  • Chiyun- Kwei Chiang Montgomery College/MC Cyber Watch
  • Michael Daniel Special Assistant to the President and Cybersecurity Coordinator
  • Patrick Dowd NSA
  • Lieutenant General Ronnie Hawkins DISA
  • Congressman Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
  • Michael Watson VITA/Commonwealth Security and Risk Management
  • Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
  • Veda Woods Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board


  • Rickey T. Branning U.S. Postal Service
  • Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)
  • Kristopher Cox J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College (JSRCC)/Virginia Community College System
  • Cornelia Rogall-Grothe Federal Republic of Germany
  • Governor Rick Snyder State of Michigan
  • Major General Suzanne M. Vautrinot 24th Air Force


  • Dion Herbert Department of State
  • Congressman Michael McCaul (R-TX)
  • Alex Pettit State of Oklahoma
  • Tony Sager National Security Agency


  • Trent Carpenter State of Michigan
  • Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)
  • Michael Dent Fairfax County Government
  • Priscilla Guthrie Office of the Director of National Intelligence
  • Doug Jacobson Iowa State University
  • Chuck McGann U.S. Postal Service
  • Ron Ross National Institute of Standards and Technology